Stephen Kellogg: Blunderstone Rookery (2013)

Hey all, I have another record to share with you, but first:

Updates:
The Beach Boys- Good Vibrations/Let’s Go Away for Awhile [45 RPM Single] (Capitol): I received this as a gift because I’d been ranting about how the release of “Good Vibrations” was a milestone in music production & history. It’ll be my first single review & I’m pretty pumped for it.

David Berkeley- Fire in My Head (Straw Man): I ordered this from David Berkeley’s store, via Amazon & I’m running into the same problems I did with the record I’m about to review. It says “processing,” but I haven’t gotten it yet. It probably needs to be pressed, or something. I’m very curious about the vinyl quality, as some of the independently released records were pretty thin & floppy.

Simon & Garfunkel- Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme (Columbia): Okay, so after a long & very unpleasant argument with the post office about the package floating somewhere in US Mail land for way too long, I finally was able to get it delivered. It has found its happy new home in my record collection.

Simon & Garfunkel- Wednesday Morning, 3AM (Columbia): Interesting story on this one. I ordered it through eBay & no matter how many times I checked, it was never listed as shipped. Just as I was about to message the seller, I received one from him, telling me he couldn’t find the record. He’s searching for it & said that he gave me a full refund & when he finds it, he’ll ship it. Free record!

Stephen Kellogg- Blunderstone Rookery:
In in 2012, one of my favorite bands, Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers announced their hiatus. That word is not what a fan of any band wants to hear because even though it implies they’re taking a break, nine times out of ten, it means that they’re done. Think about it. All the boy bands from the late 90s are technically still on hiatus so Justin Timberlake can make a solo record. As far as I’m concerned, those idiots can stay that way, but hey, I digress.

Anyway, SK6ers announced their indefinite lack of plans to record after 2012. Their final “Hi-Ate-Us” tour was planned for the summer before the split, & when I heard it, I was pretty disappointed. Then, a glimmer of hope. In early 2013, Kellogg went public with plans to release his first solo record in about ten years.

Tthe record would be named Blunderstone Rookery, after the home of the main character in his favorite book, David Copperfield. Kellogg even went as far as to sign copies of the Charles Dickens novel while on tour, for no other reason than just feeling like it.

photo 4

Blunderstone Rookery’s Elm City label

 

Cover Art:
Blunderstone Rookery’s cover art is a pretty cool looking picture of Kellogg, in profile, on a background collage of what looks like old posters & newspaper ads. The orange, black & blue contrast is very attention-grabbing. The addition of plain text, with his name in black & the album title in red, makes it a pretty cool looking cover.

photo 5

Stephen Kellogg’s Blunderstone Rookery cover

Sound:
I knew right away that this was going to be a better experience than I had with The Bear because when I looked at & held the vinyl disc, it was heavier, sturdier & much more durable. When I played it, the tone arm didn’t rise & fall over the hills & valleys of a wavy, warped record.

I’ve never been a huge fan of the typical country twang, but all throughout his musical career, when Kellogg uses it, he finds a subtle balance, creating a his own style of music which is influenced by elements from the genre, rather than using imitation. The influence is very apparent in a number of the songs on the album, but that same perfect balance continues into it. Folk, rock & other influences perforate the sound of Kellogg’s songs, creating a wonderful audio experience that is overflowing with emotion.

Final Thoughts:
I think this record was a transition for Kellogg, during which, he was relearning his bearings as a solo act. As I’ve said before, this is his first record without his band in about a decade, so it must have been exciting, yet a little nerve wracking to venture out on without the help of his old friends. Regardless of how different it in no doubt was, SK passed with flying colors. Blunderstone Rookery is made of both new material & unreleased Sixers’ songs, which is never a bad thing, & if he’s going to continue down the solo road, I can’t wait to see what his future albums which consist entirely of songs written solely by Kellogg have in store.

I love this album. It’s a positively wonderful way to kick off a solo career, so give it a listen. You won’t regret it.

If you’re interested in purchasing the album on vinyl or in another format, you can do so here.

1 Comment

Filed under Records

One response to “Stephen Kellogg: Blunderstone Rookery (2013)

  1. Pingback: Record # 8: Anthem (2013) | Bill's Bologna

Leave a Reply

